LiveZilla Live Chat Software
  • Cambodia-Bike-tour-01
  • Cambodia Bike Tour 5
  • cambodia-Bike-tour-04
  • Cambodia Bike Tour
  • Cambodia Bike Tour 6
  • our Angkor Wat cycling Adventures
  • Cambodia Bike Tour 8
Cambodia-Bike-tour-011 Cambodia Bike Tour 51 cambodia-Bike-tour-041 Cambodia Bike Tour 1 Cambodia Bike Tour 61 our Angkor Wat cycling Adventures 1 Cambodia Bike Tour 81
General Information

Cambodia (Khmer) History

The Mon-Khmer race developed slowly during the first six centuries of the Christian era. Under Indian influence, a powerful maritime empire called “ Funan” ruled over all the shores of the Gulf of Siam. Within a short time, this new power knows as Chenla absorbed the Funanese Kingdom. In the late 7th century, Chenla broke into two parts: land Chenla (to the north) and water Chenla (to the south along the Gulf of Thailand). Land Chenla was fairly stable during the 8th century, where water Chenla was beset by dynastic rivalries.


At the beginning of the 9th century, the kings set up their capital in the present province of Siem Reap. For nearly six centuries, they erected two hundred temples as their sanctuaries in the Angkorian area of Some 400 square kilometers in the Siem Reap Province.


King Suryavarman II (1113-1150) built the temple such as Angkor Wat, Thommnon, Chau Say Tevoda, Preah Palilay, Preah Pithu, and Banteay Samre.


Jayavarman VII (1181-1220) was best known for his huge building program. Firstly, he built Ta Phrohm (1186) and Preah Khan (1191) to dedicate to his parents. Secondly, He erected Banteay Kdei, Srah Srang, the terrace of the Leper King, the terrace of Elephants, Neak Pean, Ta Som, Ta Nei, and some others in other part of the country, Thirdly, he found his great capital, Angkor Thom. Finally in the Center, he built Bayon with its two hundred stone faces.


The decline of Angkor Era began after the death of King Jayavarman VII in the early of 13th century. Due to the Siames invasion and limitation of the irrigation system, Khmer power declined so much that the king was finally obliged to move to the vicinity of Phnom Penh in 1431. Resulting from the series of Siam and Cham (Vietnam) invasion the country was put as a French Protectorate in 1863.


After regaining independence in 1953 the country had serveral name

1.     The Kingdom Of Cambodia (Under the Reachea Niyum Regime 1953-1970)

2.     The Khmer Republic (Under Lon Nol Regime 1970-1975)

3.     Democratic Kampuchea (Under Pol Pot Genocidal Regime From 1975-1979)

4.     The People’s Republic of Kampuchea (1979-1989)

5.     The State of Cambodia (1989-1993)

6.     The Kingdom of Cambodia (1993 Until Now)


Reference “ Annual Report on Tourism Statistics 2015”